Drew Sawyer is an art historian and a curator. He is the Phillip Leonian and Edith Rosenbaum Leonian Curator at the Brooklyn Museum. Read more︎




Exhibitions
Books
Essays
Conversations






︎︎

Mark

Thursday, 15 October 2020
Milan 6pm / London 5pm / NYC 12 noon / Los Angeles 9am / Shanghai 12 midnight
2-hour Masterclass
Live on Zoom


Art historian and curator Drew Sawyer will present a masterclass on the intersections of queerness and contemporary photography. How did photography help shape LGBT subjectivities and communities during the “gay liberation movement” of the 1960s and 1970? Subsequently, how have queerness and photography troubled our understanding of gender and sexuality? What does queer mean in the 21st century, and how can photography advance its aims Sawyer will consider the writings of Judith Butler, Cathy J. Cohen, Michel Foucault and David Getsy, along with the photographic work of artists including Paul Mpagi Sepuya, A.L. Steiner, and Carrie Yamaoka.

https://shop.selfpublishbehappy.com/products/the-world-we-live-in-contemporary-photography-and-queerness-with-drew-sawyer